The RaspBoy (Part 1 – The LCD)

I´ll give the pinball a little break for a smaller project: The Raspboy

Raspberry Pi and a 3,5″ LCD in a Gameboy-Case.Portable. With working original buttons.

Well, the Raspi needs 5V (USB), the LCD 12V – a little problem.

The LCD: I bought a cheap, chinese LCD (30 Euro) – a rear-view-monitor for cars.

Back to the voltage-problem:

I found outt, that the LCD can be powered with 5V too, but unfortunately the instructions I found are for another PCB – I think the 8-legged IC on the left should be removed, but it has no printing on it so I´m not sure.

After some research I finally found out, that on the backside of the PCB a 5V connection is pissible. After removing the PCB from the LCD (This pad sticked very the PCB VERY good on the LCD) I found the solder bump labeled with “5V”:

Horray, it works!!

The attempt to power the whole thing with the 5V Battery (An external Batterypack for Smartphones) failed – after pressing the battery´s On-Button multiple times the Raspy and LCD worked.

I´ll use a Teensy for the controls – my first try of programming a microcontroller. The Teensy should arrive in the next few days. I hope I solved the starting issue until then…

Problem solved: I simply removed the DC/DC Converter (the non-labeled IC) and now everything works fine!

5 Comments

    • Thats quite easy (as described in the blogpost):
      1) Remove the PCB from the LCD carefully (first plug off the flat-cable)
      2) scratch off the black sticky foam from the PCB (until you find the 5V connection (it is labeled “5V”)
      3) solder +5V (e.g. the red wire of an USB cable) to the 5V connector
      4) turn around the PCB
      5) remove the DC-DC converter (the non-labeled, 8-legged IC in the left side (next to the couple of silver capacitors, over the 3-legged thingy)
      6) solder the – of your USB cable where the original black wire is.
      7) DONE!
      Note: You only need to power the LCD with the wire you soldered to +5V. You do not need the “normal” red wire any more (you can remove it)
      Note 2: This is not as hard as it looks. The hardest thing is to remove the PCB from the LCD and locate the +5V connector (look at the pic in the post).
      Note 3: Maybe its a little bit confusing: The green wire on the pic in my post does exactly nothing. it is not soldered anywhere (I removed it later).
      Hope I could help!

Leave a comment

